City Guide São Paulo

E-mail Print option in slimbox / lytebox? (info) PDF

Sampa not Samba

Issue 02/2012

illu-saopaulo

Text Ilona Marx Photos Adrian Louw Illustration Roman Klonek

While Rio de Janeiro is immediately associated with beaches and samba, its big sister São Paulo has a Blade Runner-style image with a criminal background: wild and potentially dangerous – and anything but sexy. Which is of course accurate at first sight. When flying into the city, the biggest metropolis of South America with a population of 11 million appears like a seemingly endless sea of high-rise buildings. Thousands of skyscrapers as far as the eye can see, like small pinpoints on the horizon. It may sound crazy but this view has something exhilarating about it – its uniformity possesses an allure that is hard to ignore.

São Paulo has a very special charm. And this has a lot to do with its mayor Gilberto Kassab, who declared the 'Sampa', as the city is known by the locals, a 'Clean City' in 2006, banning every type of large-scale advertising from the cityscape. It has had a profound effect: the streets appear uniformly tidier, as if they have undergone a thorough cleansing of loud, garish advertising billboards and attention-seeking placards. If anything is brightly coloured and graphically eye-catching then it's the graffiti and street art tags; the artistic creativity that has made São Paulo well known, even renowned.

A good spot from which to admire the urban beauty is the roof terrace of Edifício Itália, one of the tallest buildings in the city. From here you can enjoy a panoramic view of the pastel-coloured concrete structures, as well as marvelling at one of the city's landmarks: the imposing, curved façade of the Copan building which, like so many of the impressive edifices in this country, was designed by the incomparable Oscar Niemeyer. It was this Brazilian architect, together with Roberto Burle Marx, who designed another of the great sights of the megapolis: Ibirapuera Park, the city's large green belt.

Señor Niemeyer, who is now over one hundred years old, is still full of creative energy and, as a pioneer of Brazilian modernity, is, for his successors, a living paragon of his trade. That is also true of the already legendary architect Isay Weinfeld, who was responsible for the most exciting shopping and gastronomic projects in São Paulo. It is wonderful to see how much effort is being invested into the building of stores and interior design in booming Brazil. Europe can only dream of the variety of shops and restaurants shooting up out of the ground here. São Paulo is simply thinking big, and that is particularly visible in the city's upmarket Jardin district. This neighbourhood, located northeast of the Avenida Paulista and bordered to the southwest by Avenida Brazil, boasts the most extravagant shops and exquisite restaurants. Although admittedly what's on offer is expensive, even by European standards, it will still leave you wide-eyed and open-mouthed.

Somewhat more affordable – and no less inspiring – are the quarters of Vila Madalena and Pinheiros. Here, you will discover rows and rows of up-and-coming restaurants, vintage stores and interior design shops. And not forgetting the numerous art galleries, all united by one thing: their international renown. And finally, SP-Arte, the most important art fair in the whole of South America, is based in the city.

However, beyond all its culinary and cultural assets, São Paulo is and remains a business city. Tourists are few and far between. Even the beautiful and the rich, who elsewhere would be indifferent towards visitors, are genuinely happy to discover that you have found your way to the 'Sampa'. The friendliness and helpfulness for which the Paulistas are known, ensures that, despite all expectations to the contrary, this multi-million metropolis exudes human warmth, and a familial, almost cosy atmosphere. Sociable rather than dangerous, that was the lasting impression for J'N'C editor-in-chief Ilona Marx and Cape Town photographer Adriaan Louw, who during their subsequent visit to Rio, found themselves longing to return to São Paulo.

PLUS CHECK THESE OUT

Rosa Maria (Restaurant that is just as hip as it is pleasing on the eye – reservation highly recommended!) www.restauranterosamaria.com.br

Hotel Emiliano (The coolest luxury hotel – bathed in sunlight.) www.emiliano.com.br

Hotel Unique (Rock star hangout with unusual architecture: this hotel is built in the shape of a huge slice of watermelon.) www.hotelunique.com.br

Skye Bar (Bar on the rooftop of Hotel Unique – with views over the city and the Ibirapuera Park.) www.hotelunique.com.br

D.O.M. (This gourmet temple has the reputation of being the city's best restaurant and is one of the 50 best worldwide.) www.domrestaurante.com.br

Dalva e Dito (Another top address of the famous D.O.M. chef Alex Atala – with beautiful interior design.) www.dalvaedito.com.br

Frevo (50s snack bar that serves the most delicious nibbles going by the name of 'Beirut'.) www.frevinho.com.br

AMP (T-shirts and urbanwear presented in a very European-inspired setting.) www.amulherdopadre.com

Alexandre Herchcovitch (One of the most important representatives of Brazilian fashion design.) www.herchcovitch.uol.com.br

Forum (The hip address for sophisticated fashion – which is even surpassed by the store's architecture.) www.forum.com.br

Ibirapuera Auditorium (A UFO slap bang in the middle of the park, designed by brilliant architect Oscar Niemeyer.) www.auditorioibirapuera.com.br

Pissani (Fantastic homemade pasta – the ultimate luxury takeaway.) www.pissani.com.br

Legado (Gorgeous vintage furniture, surrounded by numerous interior design stores.) www.legadoarte.com.br

Galpao, 1416 Rua João Moura, 1416 - Pinheiros (Fantastic treasure trove for vintage interior design.)

Paulo Alves (Eccentric Brazilian furniture design.) www.marcenariasp.com.br

Coletivo Amor de Madre (Interior design and art go hand in hand here.) www.coletivoamordemadre.com

São Cristovão, Rua Aspicuelta, 533 - Vila Madalena (Very popular bistro – packed to the rafters with football trophies.)

Copan Building (Oscar Niemeyer's signature building: best admired from the rooftop terrace of the neighbouring Edifício Itália.) www.copansp.com.br

Back ... Last Updated on y-m-d  

The
Current Issue

City Guide São Paulo

E-Mail Druckbutton anzeigen? PDF

Sampa statt Samba

Ausgabe 02/2012

illu-saopaulo

Text Ilona Marx Photos Adrian Louw Illustration Roman Klonek

Verbindet man Rio de Janeiro mit Strand und Samba, hat die große Nachbarin São Paulo das Image einer Bladerunnerin mit krimineller Vergangenheit: wüst, potenziell gefährlich – und alles andere als sexy. Was auf den ersten Blick natürlich stimmt. Beim Landeanflug zeigt sich die mit 11 Millionen Einwohnern größte Stadt Südamerikas als schier endloses Hochhausmeer. Abertausende Skyscraper, soweit das Auge reicht, am Horizont nur noch stecknadelkopfgroß. Es klingt vielleicht verrückt, aber dieser Anblick hat etwas Berauschendes – in seiner Homogenität einen Reiz, dem man sich nur schwer entziehen kann.

São Paulo besitzt eine ganz besondere Ausstrahlung. Das ist nicht zuletzt der Verdienst des Bürgermeisters Gilberto Kassab, der ‚Sampa‘, wie die Locals ihre Stadt nennen, 2006 zur Clean City erklärte – und jede Art von großflächiger Werbung aus dem Stadtbild verbannte. Mit grandiosem Effekt: Die Straßenzüge wirken einheitlich, aufgeräumt, wie generalgereinigt von schreiend lauten Werbebannern und aufmerksamkeitsheischenden Plakaten. Wenn etwas grellbunt und grafisch ist, dann sind es Graffiti und Streetart-Tags, für deren hohen künstlerischen Anspruch São Paulo bekannt, ja sogar berühmt ist.

Ein guter Spot, um die urbane Schönheit zu würdigen, ist die Dachterrasse des Edifício Itália, eines der höchsten Gebäude der Stadt. Von hier aus genießt man nicht nur einen 360-Grad-Blick auf die pastellfarbenen Betonbauten, sondern kann gleichzeitig eines der Wahrzeichen der Stadt bewundern: die imposant geschwungene Fassade des Copan-Gebäudes, das, wie viele der großartigen Bauwerke im ganzen Land, aus der Feder des genialen Oscar Niemeyer stammt. Der brasilianische Architekt war es auch, der gemeinsam mit Roberto Burle Marx eine weitere Sehenswürdigkeit der Megapolis gestaltete: den Ibirapuera Park, die große grüne Lunge der Stadt.

Inzwischen über hundert Jahre alt, steckt Señor Niemeyer noch immer voller Schaffenskraft und ist als Wegbereiter der brasilianischen Moderne den Nachgeborenen seiner Zunft lebendiges Vorbild. So auch dem mittlerweile selbst schon legendären Architekten Isay Weinfeld, der für die spannendsten Shopping- und Gastroprojekte in São Paulo verantwortlich zeichnet. Fantastisch zu sehen, wie viel Aufmerksamkeit man im Boomland Brasilien dem Ladenbau und Interior Design schenkt. Was hier an Läden und Restaurants aus dem Boden schießt – von einer solchen Vielfalt träumt Europa. São Paulo denkt schlichtweg groß, das ist vor allem im noblen Stadtteil Jardins unübersehbar. Das Viertel, das im Nordosten von der Avenida Paulista und im Südwesten von der Avenida Brasil begrenzt wird, strotzt nur so vor extravaganten Shops und exquisiten Restaurants. Zugegeben, das Angebot ist kostspielig, selbst für europäische Verhältnisse, versetzt aber auch nachhaltig in Staunen.

Etwas günstiger – und nicht weniger inspirierend – geht es in den hippen jungen Vierteln Vila Madalena und Pinheiros zu. Hier reihen sich aufstrebende Restaurants, Vintage- Läden und Interior-Design-Shops aneinander. Nicht zu vergessen: die zahlreichen Kunstgalerien, die eines eint: internationales Renommee. Schließlich logieren sie in der Stadt, die mit der SP-Arte die bedeutendste Kunstmesse Südamerikas ausrichtet.

Doch bei all ihren gastronomischen und kulturellen Vorzügen: São Paulo ist und bleibt eine Businessstadt. Touristen sind rar gesät. Sogar die Schönen und Reichen, andernorts eher gleichgültig gegenüber Fremden, freuen sich offenkundig, dass man den Weg nach ‚Sampa‘ gefunden hat. Die Freundlichkeit und Hilfsbereitschaft der Paulistas – sie ist sprichwörtlich und sorgt dafür, dass in der Millionenmetropole menschliche Wärme, ja, völlig unerwartet, ein fast schon gemütliches Flair herrscht. Gemütlich statt gefährlich, das entsprach ganz den Vorstellungen von J’N’C-Chefredakteurin Ilona Marx und des Kapstädter Fotografen Adriaan Louw, die sich bei ihrem nachträglichen Besuch in Rio so manches Mal nach São Paulo zurücksehnten.

PLUS CHECK THESE OUT

Rosa Maria Genauso hübsches wie hippes Restaurant – unbedingt reservieren! www.restauranterosamaria.com.br

Hotel Emiliano  Das coolste Luxushotel – lichtdurchflutet. www.emiliano.com.br

Hotel Unique Rockstarabsteige mit schräger Architektur: Das Hotel hat die Form einer Wassermelonenscheibe. www.hotelunique.com.br

Skye Bar  Bar auf dem Dach des Unique – mit Blick auf die Stadt und den Ibirapuera Park. www.hotelunique.com.br

D.O.M. Der Gourmettempel gilt als das beste Restaurant der Stadt und zählt zu den 50 besten weltweit. www.domrestaurante.com.br

Dalva e Dito Eine weitere Adresse des berühmten D.O.M.-Chefs Alex Atala – noch dazu traumschön eingerichtet. www.dalvaedito.com.br

Frevo 50s Snackbar. ‚Beirut' heißen die leckersten Happen.  www.frevinho.com.br

AMP  T-Shirts und Urbanwear – in sehr europäisch inspiriertem Ambiente. www.amulherdopadre.com

Alexandre Herchcovitch Eines der wichtigsten Aushängeschilder des brasilianischen Modedesigns. www.herchcovitch.uol.com.br

Forum  Eine schicke Adresse für edle Mode – noch besser allerdings ist die Architektur des Stores. www.forum.com.br

Ibirapuera Auditorium  Ein UFO, das im Park gelandet ist. Vom genialen brasilianischen Architekten Oscar Niemeyer. www.auditorioibirapuera.com.br

Pissani  Fantastische selbstgemachte Pasta – ein Take-away der Luxusklasse. www.pissani.com.br

Legado Schöne Vintage-Furniture, umringt von weiteren Einrichtungsgeschäften. www.legadoarte.com.br

Galpao, 1416 Rua João Moura, 1416 - Pinheiros. Tolle Fundgrube für Vintage-Interior-Design.

Paulo Alves Ausgefallenes brasilianisches Möbeldesign. www.marcenariasp.com.br

Coletivo Amor de Madre  Interior Design und Kunst gehen hier Hand in Hand. www.coletivoamordemadre.com

São Cristovão, Rua Aspicuelta, 533 - Vila Madalena. Sehr beliebtes Bistro – über und über dekoriert mit Fußballtrophäen.

Copan Building Oscar Niemeyers Signature-Gebäude: Am besten von der Dachterrasse des benachbarten Edifício Itália aus zu bewundern. www.copansp.com.br

Zurück ... Zuletzt aktualisiert am d.m.y  

Aktuelle
Ausgabe

Ausgabe kaufenAbonnierenMediadaten