City Guide Palma de Mallorca

E-mail Print option in slimbox / lytebox? (info) PDF

Best of Both Worlds

Issue 02/2011

mallorca-city-guide-illu

Text  Ilona Marx  Photos  Andi Zimmermann  Illustration  Roman Klonek

Mallorca has long since shaken off its reputation as the favoured holiday spot of sun-worshipping Germans. Meanwhile the type of visitor to ‘the island’, as the Mediterranean isle is fondly referred to in Germany for identification purposes, has changed. The package holiday tourists, who stay amongst themselves in a few well-known areas, are being joined by hikers and cyclists, culture vultures and friends of nature, escapists and creatives. Palma, the capital of the Balearics, gives them a double promise: an urban attitude to life – and the direct proximity to mountains and beaches.

Despite attempts by the island’s government to steer tourism in a more moderate direction, some of which are already bearing fruit, Palma Airport still dispatches around 10 million holidaymakers every year. So it wouldn’t make much sense to sing the same tune as those who are still celebrating Palma as the ‘undiscovered metropolis’. It was others who did the discovering here. But even rediscovering and exploring the side streets to find out ‘qué pasa’ can also be a real pleasure. Especially when tradition is found residing side by side with the avant-garde.

Palma, which in some places comes across as a small version of Barcelona, also offers – in miniature – the same advantages. Here too, exciting projects are brought to life in sleepy alleyways, and between old churches and bodegas there is air and space for new ideas. Although the city, which has a population of 350,000, does lose out in a direct comparison to its big Catalonian sister, merely due to its diminutive size. But it’s not without reason that countless resourceful North Europeans have also settled here next to the many ambitious locals – on the one hand to flee the weather at home, on the other to fulfil their creative potential.

It is a true joy to see how many creatives in Palma consistently follow their own style, without caring too much about popular trends. Taking place parallel to this is traditional island living: craftsmanship and dining culture are kept alive. After all, real Mallorcans don’t allow themselves to be worked up by the new settlers. On the contrary: they are even known to join forces with them now and again. Which is pretty effortless in the former royal city anyway, where the distances are short; the most important addresses can all be reached on foot or by bicycle. A good example: art. In and around Palma visitors are not only tempted by Es Baluard – the ‘Museu d’Art Modern i Contemporani de Palma’ – and the Fundació Pilar i Joan Miró, but also by the Sala Pelaires Gallery. Since the 1970s this institution, which is also closely linked to the name of Miró, has significantly contributed to shaping Mallorcan cultural life and should therefore feature on the itinerary of every art lover. The same incidentally also applies to the Thomas De Diego Gallery and the art and design showroom Louis 21, two unconventional art hotspots that haven’t been around quite as long.

So what else does Palma have to offer, apart from the numerous beaches close to the city? Fabulous design hotels, much-lauded Michelin-starred restaurants, rustic tapas bars, exclusive fashion and jewellery stores. In the charming nightlife districts Sa Gerrería, St. Catalina and Es Molinar flaneurs and gourmands alike will be spoiled for choice. Modernist architecture meets an Arabic and Christian legacy. And like a queen, the La Seu Cathedral is enthroned above all of this diversity, making its contribution to Palma’s very own, unmistakeable skyline.

Certainly reason enough to stay loyal to the Balearic metropolis – or at least to come back as soon as possible. And during their foray through Palma that’s exactly what J’N’C-editor-in-chief Ilona Marx and Düsseldorf-based photographer Andi Zimmermann resolved to do.

Back ... Last Updated on y-m-d  

The
Current Issue

City Guide Palma de Mallorca

E-Mail Druckbutton anzeigen? PDF

Best of Both Worlds

Ausgabe 02/2011

mallorca-city-guide-illu

Text  Ilona Marx  Photos  Andi Zimmermann Illustration  Roman Klonek

Längst hat Mallorca den Ruf als Teutonengrill abgelegt. Inzwischen ist der Anspruch der Besucher an ‚die Insel‘, wie das mediterrane Eiland im deutschen Volksmund der großen Identifikation wegen genannt wird, ein anderer. Zu den Pauschaltouristen, die in einigen wenigen Orten unter sich bleiben, gesellen sich Wanderer und Radfahrer, Kulturinteressierte und Naturfreunde, Aussteiger und Kreative. Palma, die Hauptstadt der Balearen, gibt ihnen ein doppeltes Versprechen: ein urbanes Lebensgefühl – und die unmittelbare Nähe zu Bergen und Stränden.

Bei allen Versuchen der Inselregierung, den Tourismus in moderatere Bahnen zu lenken, die teils bereits Früchte tragen – der Flughafen Palma fertigt jährlich etwa 10 Millionen Feriengäste ab. Folglich wäre es auch unsinnig, in das Horn derjenigen stoßen, die Palma noch immer als die ‚unentdeckte Metropole‘ feiern. Entdeckt, das haben hier schon andere. Aber auch Wiederentdecken und sich ein wenig in den Seitenstraßen nach dem ‚qué pasa‘ erkundigen kann große Freude machen. Vor allem, wenn Tradition Seite an Seite mit Avantgarde residiert.

Palma, das mancherorts wie Klein-Barcelona daherkommt, bietet – en miniature – auch dessen Vorzüge. Auch hier werden in der einen oder anderen verschlafenen Gasse spannende Projekte ins Leben gerufen, gibt es zwischen alten Kirchen und Bodegas Luft und Raum für neue Ideen. Zwar zieht die 350.000-Einwohner-Stadt allein schon aufgrund ihrer überschaubaren Größe im unmittelbaren Vergleich mit der großen katalanischen Schwester letztlich wohl den Kürzeren. Doch nicht umsonst haben sich neben vielen ambitionierten Einheimischen auch zahlreiche findige Nordeuropäer hier niedergelassen – einerseits, um dem heimatlichen Wetter zu entfliehen, andererseits, um sich gestalterisch zu verwirklichen.

Es ist eine wahre Wohltat zu sehen, wie viele Kreative in Palma konsequent ihren Stil verfolgen, ohne sich allzu sehr um allgemeine Trends zu scheren. Parallel findet das traditionelle Inselleben statt: Handwerk und Esskultur werden hochgehalten. Als echter Mallorquiner lässt man sich schließlich von Zugezogenen nicht aus der Ruhe bringen. Im Gegenteil: Nicht selten macht man mit ihnen gemeinsame Sache. Denn die Laufwege sind kurz in der ehemaligen Königsstadt, die wichtigsten Adressen allesamt zu Fuß oder per Fahrrad zu erreichen. Ein gutes Beispiel: die Kunst. So locken in und um Palma nicht nur das Es Baluard – das ‚Museu d’Art Modern i Contemporani de Palma‘ – und die Fundació Pilar i Joan Miró, es lockt auch die Galerie Sala Pelaires. Seit den 1970er Jahren hat diese ebenfalls eng mit dem Namen Miró verknüpfte Institution das mallorquinische Kulturleben entscheidend mitgeprägt und sollte daher auf der Agenda eines jeden Kunstliebhabers stehen. Gleiches gilt übrigens für die Galerie Thomas De Diego und den Art & Design-Showroom Louis 21, zwei unkonventionelle Kunst-Hotspots jüngeren Datums.

Was Palma sonst noch zu bieten hat, sieht man einmal von den zahlreichen stadtnahen Stränden ab? Traumschöne Designhotels, vielgepriesene Sterne-Restaurants, urige Tapas-Bars, exklusive Mode- und Schmuckläden. In den charmanten Ausgehvierteln Sa Gerrería, St. Catalina und Es Molinar kommen Flaneure wie Feinschmecker auf ihre Kosten.

Modernistische Architektur trifft auf ein arabisches und christliches Erbe. Und wie eine Königin thront die Kathedrale La Seu über der ganzen Vielfalt und trägt ihren Teil zu Palmas ureigener, unverwechselbarer Skyline bei. Wahrlich genug Gründe, um der Balearen-Metropole treu zu bleiben – oder zumindest schnellstmöglich wiederzukommen. Das haben sich J’N’C-Chefredakteurin Ilona Marx und der Düsseldorfer Fotograf Andi Zimmermann dann auch schon während ihrer Streifzüge durch Palma fest vorgenommen.

Zurück ... Zuletzt aktualisiert am d.m.y  

Aktuelle
Ausgabe

Ausgabe kaufenAbonnierenMediadaten